The Mill Path between the Monastery Himmerod, Eichelhütte and Eisenschmitt

The upper valley of the river Salm is very interesting, both historically and geologically. Once our ancestors found iron ore deposits. Soil analyzes have shown that iron must have been manufactured here since the 6th - 4th century BC – the iron age.
As you hike the Mill Path through the wonderful meadows of the Salm valley, you may be interested to know that this valley was an important cross-border economic area for many centuries.

The founding of the abbey

The Cistercians from Clairvaux, who founded Himmerod Abbey in 1138, brought new knowledge about agriculture and the utilization of natural resources to the area. Since there were red sandstone rich in iron ore on both banks of the Salm, it was only a matter of time before iron smelting and related trades - like the open cast mining of iron ore, the use of water power and charcoal production - gained in importance.

Ironworks and open-cast mining

The ironworks of the neighbouring village Eisenschmitt, well documented since 1372, were the oldest in the Eifel region and the most important of the archdiocese of Trier. Clues suggest that an iron worker (“ferrarius”) was already working at the Abbey from around the year 1200. However, historians believe that open-cast mining for iron ore in the area goes back much further, dating right back to the 6th - 4th century BC. As you leave the village of Eichelhütte, in the direction of Eisenschmitt, you will pass a valley called “Zimmerseifen”, which takes its names from an ancient process of obtaining iron ore.

Water power

As you hike on through the beautiful meadows of the Salm Valley, the Mill Path will lead you along man-made mill canals. These “canals” served as water storage reservoirs and weirs and were needed to regulate the water supply for the mill wheels. They were designed to power flour, oil and timber mills as well as drive the hammer mills and blast-furnace bellows of the ironworks. Of, at least, six original water “power stations”, three are still in use; these days as power stations in the modern sense, generating electricity for the communities of Himmerod and Eichelhütte. The water power station in the Hotel Molitorsmühle is producing electricity since 1889! Yes, that’s right, since eighteenhundert and ninetyeight!

The production of charcoal

Without charcoal, a fuel which burns at higher temperatures than the wood from which it is made, neither the smelting of iron nor the blacksmith’s work would have been possible. From prehistoric times, charcoal was already being produced locally for this purpose and numerous circular platforms, known as charcoal maker slabs, remind us of the charcoal makers' locations in the woods to either side of the river Salm.

Free your imagination

Although little remains to be seen today, as you are hiking on the Mill path, imagine passing four enormous, fuming blast furnaces, five weirs, two iron ore - open cast mines and the charcoal maker slabs, to get a flavour of the industry that once thrived here.

From here we recommend a diverse walk of one to two hours through meadows, wetlands and woods, alongside the mill canals and the natural streams, which meander through this lovely valley.

You may consider between different hiking trails, take the great mill path or shorten the hiking by using shortcuts.

You may choose the great mill path when you want to explore the valley. The path leads you from the hotel via Himmerod and via Eisenschmitt – after 4 miles – back to the start.

Or you may choose the small mill path when you have arrived after a long journey, when you fancy a short walk after a good meal or when you are looking forward to enjoy the lapping of the water in the creek and the peace in nature. This path is just 1 mile and roughly 30 minutes long and has no difficulties, no real increases and descents.

In order to get an first impression of the small mill path you are invited to watch the following video:

Click here when you want to download the leaflet of the great mill path.

And click here when you want more information on other hiking trails in the surroundings of the Hotel Molitorsmühle.

We wish you a good rest and lots of lovely walks in our beautiful surroundings!
Your family Molitor

Der Mühlenpfad zwischen Kloster Himmerod, Eichelhütte und Eisenschmitt

Das obere Salmtal ist geschichtlich und geologisch äußerst interessant. Hier hatten unsere Vorfahren einst Eisenerzvorkommen gefunden. Analysen im Boden haben ergeben, dass hier in dieser Gegend Eisen schon seit dem 6. – 4. Jahrhundert v. Chr. hergestellt worden sein muss – sprich in der Eisenzeit!
Wandern Sie heute auf dem Mühlenpfad durch die Auen des Salmtals, seien Sie sich also bewusst: Dieses Tal war viele Jahrhunderte ein wichtiger industrieller Wirtschaftsraum!

Die Gründung des Klosters

Mit der Gründung der Abtei Himmerod im Jahre 1138 durch die Zisterzienser unter Bernhard von Clairvaux wurden Kenntnisse aus aller Welt im Bezug auf Landwirtschaft und Rohstoffnutzung mit in diese Gegend gebracht. Da es ja beiderseits der Salm eisenerzhaltigen Buntsandstein gab, war es eine Frage der Zeit, bis die Eisenverhüttung mit allen dazugehörigen Gewerken wie dem Eisenerz – Tagebau, der Wasserkraftnutzung und der Holzkohleproduktion noch mehr Bedeutung bekam.

Der Eisenerz – Tagebau

Die im benachbarten Eisenschmitt seit 1372 nachgewiesenen Eisenhütten waren die ältesten der Eifel und die bedeutendsten des Erzbistums Trier. Bereits um das Jahr 1200 muss ein Eisenfachmann („ferrarius“) im Kloster tätig gewesen sein. Wer auf dem Mühlenpfad geht, kommt hier in Eichelhütte am Ortsausgang in Richtung Eisenschmitt an einem Tal vorbei, das Zimmerseifen heißt. Der Name und die Geländeformen dieses Tals weisen darauf hin, dass hier früher Eisenerz im Tagebau abgebaut worden ist.

Die Wasserkraft

Wandern Sie durch die wunderschönen Auen des Salmtals, leitet Sie der Mühlenpfad an ehemals „künstlich angelegten“ Mühlengräben entlang. Diese „Gräben“, die Stauteiche und auch die Stauwehre wurden zur Regulierung der Wasserzufuhr für die Mühlräder benötigt. Diese Wasseranlagen waren für den Betrieb von Getreide-, Öl- und Sägemühlen sowie von Hammerwerken und Hochofengebläsen der Eisenhütten angelegt worden. Von den mindestens sechs betriebenen Wasserkraftwerken sind heute in Eichelhütte noch zwei Wasserkraftwerke und in Himmerod noch eine Wasserkraftwerk im Betrieb, die heute der Stromgewinnung dienen. Das Wasserkraftwerk im heutigen Hotel Molitorsmühle produziert bereits seit Anfang 1889 Strom! Ja, Sie lesen richtig, seit achtzehnhundertneunundachtzig!

Die Holzkohleproduktion

Holzkohle ist ein Brennstoff, der mit höherer Temperatur verbrennt als das Ausgangsmaterial Holz. Ohne Holzkohle wäre weder die Eisenverhüttung noch die Arbeit in der Schmiede möglich gewesen. Bereits in prähistorischer Zeit wurde Holzkohle für diese Zwecke hergestellt. Zahlreiche kreisrunde Plattformen in den Wäldern beiderseits der Salm, sogenannte Köhlerplatten, erinnern an die Standorte der Kohlemeiler.

Lassen Sie Ihrer Vorstellung freien Lauf

Auch wenn von den Überresten heute nur noch wenig zu sehen ist, während Sie auf dem Mühlenpfad wandern, stellen Sie sich vor, dass Sie an drei großen rauchenden Hochöfen, fünf Wasserkraftanlagen, fünf Stauwehren, zwei Eisenerz – Tagebau – Steinbrüchen und ebenso Köhlerplatten vorbei gehen, um einen Eindruck von der Industrie zu bekommen, die einst hier vorherrschend war.

Nun laden wir Sie ein zu einem abwechslungsreichen Spaziergang durch Auen, Wiesen und Wälder, entlang den sich durch das wunderschöne Tal windenden Mühlengräben und Bachläufen.

Wählen Sie den für Sie jetzt richtigen Rundwanderweg!

Wählen Sie den großen Mühlenpfad, wenn Sie die das Tal erkunden wollen. Der Weg führt Sie vom Hotel über Himmerod und über Eisenschmitt nach 6,7km wieder zum Hotel zurück.

Wählen Sie den kleinen Mühlenpfad, wenn Sie von der langen Reise angekommen sind, wenn Sie nach dem leckeren Essen einen Spaziergang machen wollen, wenn Sie die Stille der Natur mit dem Bachplätschern genießen wollen. Diesen Weg von 1,7km gehen Sie in ca. 30 Minuten ohne Steigungen oder andere Schwierigkeiten.

Um einen Eindruck von dem kleinen Mühlenpfad zu bekommen, laden wir Sie ein das folgende Video anzuschauen:

Wenn Sie einen Flyer zum großen Mühlenpfad herunterladen wollen, klicken Sie bitte hier.

Und wenn Sie mehr über weitere Wanderwege in der Umgebung erfahren wollen, klicken Sie bitte hier.

Wir wünschen Ihnen nun gute Erholung und viele schöne Wanderungen in unserer wunderschönen Umgebung!
Ihre Familie Molitor